Laureates of the Japan Prize

2018 (34th) Japan Prize Laureates

2018 Japan Prize Honors Pioneers in Medical Science and Energy
Max D. Cooper and Jacques Miller discovered the dual nature of adaptive immunity, fueling rapid advances in medical science;
Akira Yoshino invited the lithium-ion battery, making modern mobile phone and electric vehicle technologies possible

"Resources, Energy, Environment and Social Infrastructure" field
Development of lithium ion batteries

PhotoDr. Akira Yoshino (Japan)
Honorary Fellow, Asahi Kasei Corporation
Professor, Graduate School of Science and Technology, Meijo University

"Medical Science and Medicinal Science" field
Discovery of B and T lymphocyte lineages and its impact on understanding disease pathology and therapeutic development

PhotoDr. Max D. Cooper (USA)
Professor, Emory University School of Medicine

PhotoDr. Jacques Miller (Australia)
Professor Emeritus, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research


More about the Japan Prize

30 Years of Japan Prize

page top