Welcome to The Japan Prize Foundation

The Japan Prize is awarded annually to scientists and engineers from around the world who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology, thereby furthering the cause of peace and prosperity of mankind.

Each year two fields of scientific endeavor are honored. The Japan Prize laureates receive a certificate of merit and a prize medal. A cash prize of 50 million yen is also awarded for each prize field.

2014 Japan Prize Laureates Announced

Dr. Yasuharu Suematsu’s research has led to a major breakthrough in establishing optical fiber communication technology indispensable for today’s information society and Dr. C. David Allis has deciphered roles of epigenetic changes in gene expression

"Electronics, Information and Communication" field
Pioneering research on semiconductor lasers for high-capacity long-distance optical fiber communication
PhotoDr. Yasuharu Suematsu (Japan)
Honorary Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
"Life Science" field
Discovery of histone modifications as fundamental regulators of gene expression


Dr. C. David Allis (USA)
Joy and Jack Fishman Professor, The Rockefeller University


Japan Prize Site Search
Internet Search

Latest News


Japan Prize News No.51

The 2014 Japan Prize to Dr. Yasuharu Suematsu whose research has led to founding optical fiber communication technology indispensable for today’s information society, and Dr. C. David Allis whose discovery has deciphered epigenetic changes in genes
Read issue

30 Years of Japan Prize

page top