Welcome to The Japan Prize Foundation

The Japan Prize is awarded annually to scientists and engineers from around the world who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology, thereby furthering the cause of peace and prosperity of mankind.

Each year two fields of scientific endeavor are honored. The Japan Prize laureates receive a certificate of merit and a prize medal. A cash prize of 50 million yen is also awarded for each prize field.

2017 Japan Prize Laureates Announced

2017 Japan Prize Honors Trailblazers in Life Science and Cryptography
Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna deciphered CRISPR-Cas9, creating a revolutionary tool for editing DNA;
Adi Shamir has made significant contributions to the fields of cryptography and computer science

"Electronics, Information and Communication" field
Contribution to information security through pioneering research on cryptography

PhotoDr. Adi Shamir (Israel)
Professor, Weizmann Institute of Science

"Life Science" field
Elucidation of the genome editing mechanism by the CRISPR-Cas

PhotoProf. Emmanuelle Charpentier (France)
Director, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (Berlin)

PhotoDr. Jennifer A. Doudna (USA)
Professor, University of California, Berkeley


Main Events


30 Years of Japan Prize

page top