Japan Prize

Selection Process

Nomination and Selection Process

  • Every November, the Field Selection Committee of The Japan Prize Foundation designates and announces two fields in which the Japan Prize will be awarded two years hence. At the same time, the Foundation calls for over 15,000 nominators, strictly comprised of prominent scientists and researchers from around the world invited by the Foundation, to nominate the candidates through the web by JPNS (Japan Prize Nomination System). The deadline for nominations is the end of February of the following year.
  • For each field, a Selection Subcommittee conducts a rigorous evaluation of the candidates’ academic achievements. The conclusions are then forwarded to the Selection Committee, which conducts evaluations of candidates’ achievements from a wider perspective, including contributions to the progress of science and technology, and significant advancement towards the cause of world peace and prosperity, and finally the selected candidates are recommended for the Prize.
  • The recommendations are then sent to the Foundation’s Board of Directors, which makes the final decision on the winners.
  • The nomination and selection process takes almost two years from the time that the fields are decided. Every January, the winners of that year’s Japan Prize are announced. The Presentation Ceremony is held in April in Tokyo.



Members of the 2018 Japan Prize Selection Committee

Chairman Hiroshi Komiyama

Chairman of the Institute, Mitsubishi Research Institute, Inc.
The 28th President of the University of Tokyo

Vice Chairman Ryozo Nagai

President, Jichi Medical University

Members Yoshinori Fujiyoshi

Guest Professor, Cellular and Structural Physiology Institute Nagoya University

Yoshihiro Hayashi

President / Director General
National Museum of Nature and Science

Yoshio Karita

Director, The Japan Prize Foundation

Yoichiro Matsumoto

President, Tokyo University of Science

Masayuki Matsushita

Director, The Japan Prize Foundation

Yoshinao Mishima

Former President, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Shojiro Nishio

President, Osaka University

Tadatsugu Taniguchi

Project Professor, Institute of Industrial Science
The University of Tokyo

( alphabetical order, titles as of April, 2018))


Selection Subcommittee for the “Resources, Energy, Environment and Social Infrastructure” field
Chairman Yoichiro Matsumoto

President, Tokyo University of Science

Deputy Chairman Kazuhiko Takeuchi

Director and Project Professor, Integrated Research System for Sustainability Science
The University of Tokyo Institutes for Advanced Study

Member Tadafumi Adschiri

The Advanced Institute for Materials Research Tohoku University

Keisuke Hanaki

Professor, School of Information Networking for Innovation and Design Toyo University

Yoshitsugu Hayashi

Institute of Science and Technology Research Chubu University

Koichi Hishida

Professor, Faculty of Science and Technology Keio University

Yuya Kajikawa

School of Environment and Society Tokyo Institute of Technology

Norichika Kanie

Graduate School of Media and Governance Keio University

Keiko Sasaki

Professor, Faculty of Engineering Kyushu University

Naoki Shikazono

Professor, Institute of Industrial Science The University of Tokyo

Akira Sudo

Fellow, Toshiba Corporation

Kenji Yamaji

Research Institute of Innovative Technology for the Earth

Selection Subcommittee for the “Medical Science and Medicinal Science” field
Chairman Tadatsugu Taniguchi

Project Professor
Institute of Industrial Science The University of Tokyo

Deputy Chairman Michiyuki Matsuda

Professor, Graduate School of Biostudies Kyoto University

Member Ung-il Chung
(Yuichi Tei)

Professor, Graduate Schools of Engineering and Medicine The University of Tokyo

Yukiko Gotoh

Professor, Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences The University of Tokyo 

Hiroshi Hamada

Team Leader, Laboratory for Organismal Patterning
RIKEN Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research

Seigo Izumo

Senior Vice President
Global Head of Regenerative Medicine Unit
Head of Scientific Affairs, Japan
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited

Hajime Karasuyama

Executive Director/Executive Vice President
Tokyo Medical and Dental University

Hidehiro Mizusawa

President, National Center of Neurology and Psychiatry

Yoshihiro Ogawa

Professor, Graduate School of Medical Sciences,
Kyushu University
Professor, Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences
Naoki Shikazono Tokyo Medical and Dental University

Kazuhiro Sakurada

Senior Researcher, Sony Computer Science Laboratories, Inc.

Rami Suzuki

Vice President
Head, Medical Affairs Division, Janssen Pharmaceutical K.K.

Motoko Yanagita

Professor, Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto University

( alphabetical order, titles as of April, 2018))

The Japan Prize Nomination System

The Foundation’s JPNS (Japan Prize Nomination System) on the Web facilitates the process of the nomination by the Japan Prize Official Nominators around the world. Additional details are available here.


More about the Japan Prize

2016 Japan Prize Press Conference

30 Years of Japan Prize

page top