Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Dr. Masao Ito

Dr. Masao Ito

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    4 December 1928

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 1996 Japan Prize

Major Honors

1986 Honorary member of American Physiological Society
1989 Professor Emeritus,The University of Tokyo
1989 Member of the Japan Academy
1989 Foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Science
1990 Foreign member of the American Academy of Science
1992 Foreign member of the Royal Society
1994 Barany Society


Japanese Physiological Society
Japan Neuroscience Society
Japanese Biophysics Society
Japan ME Society
Japanese Society of Equilibrium Study Society for Neuroscience
Barany Society

Academic Degrees

1953 Graduated from the Medical School.The University of Tokyo

Professional Career

1954-57 Assistant Professor at Kumamoto University
1958-63 Assistant professor at The University of Tokyo
1963-70 Assoclate professor at The University of Tokyo
1970-Present Professor at The University of Tokyo
1986-88 Dean of Faculty of Medicine,The University of Tokyo
1989 Emeritus Professor of The University of Tokyo
1989 Frontier Research Program.The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN),Team Leader
1991 Diretor-General of Frontier Research of Program,RIKEN
1994 President of the Science Council of Japan
1959-62 Leave to Sir John Eccles' Laboratory at the Australian National University,Canberra


  • Director-General, Frontier Research Program, The Insti tute of Physical and Chemical Research President, Science Council of Japan

Major Books

  • Ecclec,J.C., Ito,M. and Szentagothai,J., The Cerebellum as a Neuronal Machine. Springer-Veriag, 1967.
  • Ito,M., Noh no Sekkeizu (Blueprints of the Brain), CHUOKORON-SHA.INC. Tokyo, 1984.
  • Ito,M., The Cerebellum and Neural Control., Raven Press, New York, 1984.

Academic Papers

  • M.Ito, The electrical activity of spinal ganglion cells investigated with intracellular microelectrodes, Jpn.J.Physiol., 7,297-323, 1957.
  • M.Ito, P.G.Kostyuk and T.Oshima, Further study on anion permeability of inhibitory post-synaptic membrane of cat motoneurones., J.Physiol. (Lond.), 164, 150-156, 1962.
  • M.Ito and T.Oshima, Electrical behavior of the motoneurone membrane during intracellularly applied current steps., J.Physiol (Lond.), 180, 607-635, 1965.
  • Ito,M. and Yoshida,M., The Origin of cerebellar-induced inhibition of Deiters neurons., Exp.Brain.Res. 2,330-349,1966.
  • Obata,K., Ito,M., Ochi,R. and Sato,N., Pharmacological properties of the postsynaptic Inhibition by Purkinje cell axons and the action of γ -aminobutyric add on Details neurons., Exp. Brain Res., 4, 43-57, 1967.
  • Ito,M., Neural design of the cerebellar motor control system., Brain Res., 40, 81-84, 1972.
  • Dufosse,M., Ito,M., Jastreboff,P.J. and Miyashita,Y., A neuronal correlate of rabbit's cerebellum to adaptive modification of the vestibuloocular refex., Brain Res., 150, 611-616, 1978.
  • Ito,M., Cerebellar control of the vestibulo-ocular reflex-around the flocculus hypothesis., Annu.Rev.Neurosci., 5.275-296, 1982.
  • Ito,M., Sakurai,M. and Tongroach.P., Climbing fibre-induced depression of both mossy fibre responsiveness and glutamate sensitivity of cerebellar Purkinje cells.,J.Physiol. (Lond.), 342, 113-134, 1982.
  • Ito,M., Long-term depression., Annu.Rav.Neurosci., 12, 85-102, 1989.
  • Nagao,S. and Ito,M., Subdural application of hemoglobin to the cerebellum blocks vestibuloocular reflex adaptation., Neuro Report 2, 193-198, 1991.
  • Ito,M., Movement and thought: Identical control mechanisms by the cerebellum., Trends in Neuroscl., 16, 448-450, 1993.
  • Nakazawa,K., Mikawa,S., Hashikawa,T. and Ito,M., Transient and persistent phosphorylation of AMPA-type glutamate receptor subunits in cerebellar Purkinje cells., Neuron 15, 697-709, 1995.
Page Top