Laureates of the Japan Prize


Dr. Marc C.E. Van Montagu

1998 (14th) Japan Prize Laureate

Biotechnology in Agricultural Sciences
Establishment of the theory and method of the production of transgenic plants
Commemorative Lecture
Novel Plants for Tropical Agriculuture: How will we achieve this and who will do it?
Nationality: Belgium
Date of Birth:

November 10 1933

Academic Degrees:
1955 Graduated from Rijksuniversiteit Gent
1965 Ph.D. from Rijksuniversiteit Gent
Professional Career:
1979-87 Associate Professor and co-director Faculty of Science, Laboratory of Genetics Rijksuniversiteit Gent
1982-96 Scientific Director and member of the Board of Directors Plant Genetic Systems Inc.
1987-Present Full Professor of Faculty of Sciences Laboratory of Genetics, Rijksuniversiteit Gent
1987-Present Scientific Director of the Genetics Department Flanders Interuniversity Institute for Biotechnology
Title: Professor, Department of Genetics, University of Ghent, Belguim
Major Publications and Scientific Papers:
  1. Zaenen, I., Van Larebeke, N., Teuchy, H., Van Montagu, M., and Schell, J. Supercoiled circular DNA in crown-gall inducing Agrobacterium strains. J. Mol. Biol. 86, 109-127 (1974).
  2. enetello, C., Van Larebeke, N., Holsters, M., Depicker, A., Van Montagu., and Schell, J. The Ti-plasmid of Agrobacterium as conjugative plasmids. Nature 265, 561-563 (1977).
  3. Hernalsteens, J.P., Van Vliet, F., De Beuckeleer, M., Depicker, A., Engler, G., Lemmers, M., Holsters, M., Van Montagu, M., and Schell, J. The Agrobacterium tumefaciens Ti plasmid as a host vector system for introducing foreign DNA in plant cells. Nature 287, 654-656 (1980).
  4. Herrera-Estrella, L., Depicker, A., Van Montagu, M., and Schell, J. Chimaeric genes are transferred and expressed in plant cells using a Ti plasmid-derived vector. Nature 303, 209-213 (1983).
  5. Caplan, A., Herrera-Estrella, L., Inze, D., Van Haute, E., Van Montagu, M., and Schell, J., and Zambryski, P. Introduction of genetic material into plant cells. Science 222, 815-821 (1983).
  6. Wang, K., Herrera-Estrella, L., Van Montagu, M., and Zambryski, P. Right 25-bp terminus sequences of the nopaline T-DNA is essential for and determines direction of DNA transfer from Agrobacterium to the plant genome. Cell 38, 455-462 (1984)
  7. Koukolikova-Nicola, Z., Shillito, R.D., Hohn, B., Wang, K., Van Montagu, M., and Zambryski, P. Involvement of circular intermediates in the transfer of T-DNA from Agrobacterium tumefaciens to plant cells. Nature 312, 191-196 (1985).
  8. Vaeck, M., Reynaerts, A., Hofte, H., Jansens, S., De Beuckeleer, M., Dean, C., Zabeau, M., Van Montagu, M., and Leemans, J. Transgenic plants protected from insect attack. Nature 328, 33-37 (1987).
  9. De Block, M., Botterman, J., Vandewiele, M., Dockx, J., Thoen, C., Gossele, V., Roa Movva, N., Thompson, C., Van Montagu, M., and Leemans, J. Engineering herbicide resistance in plants by expression of a detoxifying enzyme. EMBO J. 6, 2513-2518 (1987).
  10. Van Camp, W., Willekens, H., Bowler, C., Van Montagu, M., Inze, D., Reupold-Popp, P., Sandermann, H. Jr, and Langebartels, C. Elevated levels of superoxide dismutase protect transgenic plants against ozone damage. Biotechnology 12, 165-168 (1994)
Major Awards:
  • (1985) Stevens Prize (V.C.V., Belgium)
  • (1987) Rank Prize for Nutrition, U.K.
  • (1988) IBM Europe Prize
  • (1989) Prize of the Flemish Community
  • (1990) Charles L E opold Mayer Prize, Academy of Science, France
  • (1990) Dr. Rudolf Maag Prizes, Switzerland 1990 De Leeuw-Damry-Bourlart Prize
Membership in Academic Institutions and Societies:
  • European Molecular Biology Organization Council
  • Active member of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Belgium
  • Member of the Academia Europa
  • Elected member of the World Academy of Art and Science
  • Fellow of the International Institute of Biotechnology
  • Member of the European Environmental Research Organization
  • Elected foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, Sweden
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
  • Elected foreign member of the Acad e mie d'Agriculture de France 10. Elected member of the International Advisory Board of the Centro de Investigaciones Biol o gicas, Spain
  • Elected corresponding member of the American Society of Plant Physiologists
  • Elected President of Committee for Biotechnology of the International Council of Scientific Unions
  • Elected associated member of the Royal Academy of Overseas Sciences

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top