Laureates of the Japan Prize


Dr. Timothy John Berners-Lee

2002 (18th) Japan Prize Laureate

Computing and Computational Science and Engineering
Advancement of civilization through invention, implementation and deployment of the world wide web
Commemorative Lecture
The World Wide Web, past present and future: Exploring universality
Nationality: UK
Date of Birth: 1955
Academic Degrees:
1976 B.A. Queen's College, University of Oxford
Professional Career:
1976-1978 Research Engineer, Plessey Telecommunications Ltd., UK
1978-1980 Software Engineer, D.G. Nash Ltd., UK
1980-1981 Software Consultant, UK
Consultant Software Engineer at CERN (June-December,1980)
[CERN: Conseil Europeen pour la Recherche Nucleaire (European
Council for Nuclear Research), Geneva, Switzerland]
1981-1984 Director in Technical Design, Image Computer Systems Ltd. UK
1984-1993 Research Fellow, CERN
1994- present Director, World Wide Web Consortium
1999- present Senior Research Scientist, Laboratory for Computer Science, M.I.T.
Title: Senior Research Scientist, Laboratory for Computer Science, M.I.T.
Major Publications and Scientific Papers:
  1. Berners-Lee, T.J., Information Management: A Proposal, Document at CERN, 1990 (Original document to propose the idea of the World Wide Web. A copy of this document is available at Timothy Berners-Lee's homepage.)
  2. Berners-Lee, T.J., et al, "World-Wide Web: Information Universe", Electronic Publishing: Research, Applications and Policy, April 1992
  3. Berners-Lee, T.J., et al, "The World Wide Web", Communications of the ACM, August 1994.
  4. Tim Berners-Lee with Mark Fischetti, Weaving the Web, Harper, San Francisco, 1999
Major Awards and Honors Received:
  • Kilby Foundation's "Young Innovator of the Year" Award (1995)
  • ACM Software Systems Award (1995)
  • ACM Kobayashi Award (1996)
  • IEEE Computer Society Wallace McDowell Award (1996)
  • Computers and Communication (C&C) Award (1996)
  • Duddell Medal of the Institute of Physics (1997)
  • Interactive Association's Distinguished Service Award (1997)
  • MCI Computerworld/Smithsonian Award for Leadership in Innovation (1997)
  • International Communication Institute's Columbus Prize (1997)
  • Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) (1997)
  • Charles Babbage Award (1998)
  • Mountbatten Medal of the National Electronics Council (1998)
  • The Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran Prize (1998)
  • PC Magazine Lifetime Achievement Award in Technical Excellence (1998)
  • Eduard Rhein Technology Award (1998)
  • World Technology Award for Communication Technology (1999)
  • Paul Evan Peters Award (2000)
  • George R. Stibitz Computer Pioneer Award at the American Computer Museum (2000)
  • Special Award for Outstanding Contribution of the World Television Forum (2000)
  • Royal Medal of the Royal Society (2000)
Honorary Doctorates Received:
  • Parsons School of Design, New York (1996)
  • Southampton University (1996)
  • Essex University (1998)
  • Open University (2000)
  • Columbia University (2001)
  • University of Oxford (2001)
Membership in Academic Institutions and Societies:
  • Distinguished Fellow, British Computing Society
  • Honorary Fellow, Institute of Electrical Engineering
  • Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Fellow, Royal Society
  • The 3Com Founders Chair, MIT Laboratory for Computer Science

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top