Laureates of the Japan Prize


Dr. Dennis L. Meadows

2009 Japan Prize Laureate

Transformation towards a Sustainable Society in Harmony with Nature
Contribution towards a sustainable world as founded in the 1972 Report titled The Limits to Growth
Commemorative Lecture
Learning to Live Within Limits
Nationality: USA
Date of Birth: June 7 1942
Academic Degrees:
1964 B.A. in Chemistry, Carleton College
1969 Ph.D. in Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professional Career:
1963-1964 Research Chemist, US Atomic Energy Commission
1969-1972 Assistant Professor of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1972-1988 Associate and Full Professor in Business and Engineering and Director,
Resource Policy Center, Dartmouth College
1988-2004 Professor of Systems Policy and Director, Institute for Policy and Social Research,
University of New Hampshire
2003-present President, Laboratory for Interactive Learning
Title: Professor Emeritus of Systems Policy, University of New Hampshire President,Laboratory for Interactive Learning
Major Books:
  1. Dynamics of Commodity Production Cycles (1970)

  2. The Limits to Growth (1972)

  3. Dynamics of Growth in a Finite World (1974)

  4. Toward Global Equilibrium (1976)

  5. Alternatives to Growth (1976)

  6. Beyond the Limits (1992)

  7. Creating High Performance Teams (1997)

  8. System Thinking Playbook (2001)

  9. Limits to Growth: The 30-Year Update (2004)

Major Honors and Awards:
  • Prize for the Protection of Nature of the Bavarian Society of Nature Protection (1975)
  • Honorary Ph.D.s in Economics, Environmental Engineering, and Environmental Education (1988-1994)
  • Pangea Foundation Award for Contributions to the Solution of Humanity's Problems, Prague, Czech Republic (1999)
  • Elected Honorary Professor of the Moscow State University (2005)
  • International Environmental Communication Award, European Nature Fund (2005)
  • Hungarian Presidential Medal of Honor (2006)
  • Peace Prize of the German Committee for UNESCO (2006)

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top