Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Dr. Brian J. Druker

Brian J. Druker, M.D.

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    30 April 1955

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2012 Japan Prize

Major Honors

2001 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award
2001 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, Harvard Medical School
2001 Dameshek Prize, The American Society of Hematology
2002 Medal of Honor, American Cancer Society
2002 Charles F. Kettering Prize, General Motors Cancer Research Foundation
2003 David A. Karnofsky Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2007 Keio Medical Science Prize
2009 The Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award, with Lydon and Sawyers
2009 Meyenburg Cancer Research Prize
2011 Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize by American Society of Hematology


2003 Member, the Institute of Medicine of National Academies
2006 Member, the American Association of Physician
2007 Member, the National Academy of Science

Academic Degrees

1981 M.D. from the University of California, San Diego

Professional Career

1981-1984 Internship & residency at Barnes Hospital,
Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis
1984 American Board of Internal Medicine
1984-1987 Fellow, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School
1987 American Board of Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology
2002 Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2007 Professor and Director of OHSU Knight Cancer Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

Major Publications

  • Druker, B.J., Mamon, H.J. & Roberts, T.M. Oncogenes, growth factors, and signal transduction. N. Engl. J. Med. 321, 1383–1391, 1989
  • Druker, B.J., Tamura, S., Buchdunger, E., Ohno, S., Segal, G.M., Fanning, S., Zimmermann, J., & Lydon, N.B.. Effects of a selective inhibitor of the Abl tyrosine kinase on the growth of Bcr-Abl positive cells. Nat. Med. 2:561-566, 1996
  • Druker, B.J., Talpaz, M., Resta, D.J., Peng, B., Buchdunger, E., Ford, JM, Lydon, N.B., Kantarjian, H., Capdeville, R., Ohno-Jones, S. & Sawyers, C.L. Efficacy and safety of a specific inhibitor of the bcr-abl tyrosine kinase in chronic myeloid leukemia. N. Engl. J. Med. 344: 1031–1037, 2001.
  • Sawyers C.L., Hochhaus A., Feldman E., et al. Imatinib induces hematologic and cytogenetic responses in patients with chronic myeloid leukemia in myeloid blast crisis: results of a phase II study. Blood 99:3530-3539, 2002.
  • Druker B.J., Guilhot F., O'Brien S.G. et al. Five-year follow-up of patients receiving matinib for chronic myeloid leukemia". N. Engl. J. Med. 355: 2408–2417, 2006.
Page Top