Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Dr. Masato Sagawa

Masato Sagawa, Dr. Eng.

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    3 August 1943

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2012 Japan Prize

Major Honors

1984 Osaka Prize
1985 Minister of Science and Technology Agency Award
1986 American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials
1990 Asahi Prize
1991 Japan Magnetics Society Award
1993 Okochi Memorial Prize
1998 Acta Metallurgica J. Herbert Hollomon Award
2003 Honda-kinen Prize
2006 Kato-kinen Prize

Academic Degrees

1966 B.A. from Kobe University
1972 Dr. Eng. from Tohoku University

Professional Career

1972-1982 Fujitsu Ltd.
1982-1988 Sumitomo Special Metals Co., Ltd.
1988 - President, Intermetallics Co., Ltd.

Major Publications

  • M. Sagawa, S. Fujimura, N. Togawa, H. Yamamoto and Y. Matsuura, "New Material for Permanent Magnets on a Base of Nd and Fe", J.Appl.Phys.55, pp.2083-2087, 1984.
  • M. Sagawa, S. Fujimura, H. Yamamoto and Y. Matsuura and K. Hiraga, "Permanent Magnet Materials Based on the Rare-Earth-Iron-Boron Tetragonal Compounds", IEEE Trans.Magn.MAG-20, pp.1584-1589, 1984.
  • M. Sagawa, S. Hirosawa, Y. Otani, H. Miyajima and S. Chikazumi, "Temperature Dependence of the Coercivity of Sintered R17Fe83-xBx Magnets(R=Pr, Nd)", J. Magn. Magn. Mat.70, pp.316-318, 1987.
  • M. Sagawa, S. Hirosawa, K. Tokuhara, H. Yamamoto and S. Fujimura, "Dependence of Coercivity on the Anisotropy Field in the Nd-Fe-B type Sintered Magnets", J. Appl. Phys.61, pp.3559-3561, 1987.
  • M. Sagawa, P. Tenaud, F. Vial and K. Hiraga, "High Coercivity Nd-Fe-B Sintered Magnet Containing Vanadium with New Microstructure", IEEE Trans. Magn. 26, pp.1957-1959, 1990.
Page Top