Laureates of the Japan Prize


Dr. Yasuharu Suematsu

2014 Japan Prize Laureate

Electronics, Information and Communication
Pioneering research on semiconductor lasers for high-capacity long-distance optical fiber communication
Commemorative Lecture
Nationality: Japan
Date of Birth: September 22, 1932
Academic Degrees:
1955 Tokyo Institute of Technology, B.S. in Engineering
1960 Tokyo Institute of Technology, Ph.D. in Engineering
Professional Career:
1961 Associate Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
1973 Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
1989 President, Tokyo Institute of Technology
1995 Director General, National Institute for Advanced Interdisciplinary Research
1997 President, Kochi University of Technology
2001 Director General, National Institute of Informatics
2005 Advisor, National Institute of Informatics (-2009)
2011 Honorary Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Major Publications:
  1. “Room Temperature CW Operation of (100) GaInAsP/InP DH Laser Emitting at 1.51μm,” S. Arai, M. Asada, Y. Suematsu, and Y. Itaya, Japan. J. Appl. Phys., 18, 12, pp.2333-2334 (Dec. 1979).
  2. “Single Wavelength Operation of 1.53μm GaInAsP/InP BH Integrated Twin Guide Lasers with Distributed Bragg Reflector under Direct Modulation up to 1GHz,” K. Utaka, K. Kobayashi, F. Koyama, Y. Abe, and Y. Suematsu, Electron. Lett., 17, 11, pp.368-369 (May 1981).
  3. “Dynamic-Single-Mode Semiconductor Lasers with Distributed Reflector,” Y. Suematsu, S. Arai, and K. Kishino, IEEE J. Lightwave Technol., LT-1, 1, pp.161-176 (Mar. 1983).
  4. “1.5μm Phase-Shifted DFB Lasers for Single-Mode Operation,” K. Sekartedjo, N. Eda, K. Furuya, Y. Suematsu, F. Koyama, and T. Tanbun-Ek, Electron. Lett., 20, 2, pp.80-81 (Jan. 1984).
  5. “Analysis of Dynamic Spectral Linewidth of Dynamic-Single-Mode (DSM) Lasers and Related Transmission Bandwidth of Single-Mode Fibers,” F. Koyama and Y. Suematsu, IEEE J. Quantum Electron., QE-21, 4, pp.292-297 (Apr. 1985).
Major Awards:
  • 1983 Valdemar Poulsen Gold Medal
  • 1983 Prime Minister's Award for Communication Achievement
  • 1986 David Sarnoff Award
  • 1989 Toray Science and Technology Prize
  • 1994 The John Tyndall Award
  • 1994 C&C Prize
  • 1996 Medal with Purple Ribbon
  • 1997 Eduard Rhein Basic Research Prize
  • 2003 IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal
  • 2003 Person of Cultural Merits

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top