Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Dr. Hideo Hosono

Hideo Hosono, Ph.D.

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    7 September 1953

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2016 Japan Prize

  • Field:
    Materials and Production
  • Achievement:
    Creation of unconventional inorganic materials with novel electronic functions based on nano-structure engineering
  • Lecture:
    Element Strategy and Future Materials

Major Awards

1991 1st Otto-Schott Research Award
1994 W. H. Zachariasen Award
2009 Medal with Purple Ribbon, Fujiwara Prize, B.T. Matthias Prize
2011 Jan Rajchman Prize, Asahi Prize
2012 Nishina Memorial Prize
2013 Honda Memorial Prize, Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate
2015 J.C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials, Imperial Prize and Japan Academy Prize

Academic Degrees

1977 Tokyo Metropolitan University, B.E.
1982 Tokyo Metropolitan University, Ph.D.

Professional Career

1982 Assistant Professor, Nagoya Institute of Technology
1988-1989 Postdoctoral Fellow, Vanderbilt University
1990 Associate Professor, Nagoya Institute of Technology
1993 Associate Professor, Research Laboratory of Engineering Materials, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech)
1995 Associate Professor, Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki National Research Organization
1997 Associate Professor, Materials and Structures Laboratory, Tokyo Tech
1999-present Professor, Materials and Structures Laboratory, Tokyo Tech
2004-2014 Professor, Frontier Research Center, Tokyo Tech
2012-present Director, Materials Research Center for Element Strategy, Tokyo Tech


  • Materials and Structures Laboratory
    & Materials Research Center for Element Strategy,
    Mail Box S2-13, Tokyo Institute of Technology,
    Nagatsuta, Midori-ku, Yokohama 226-8503, Japan

Major Publications

  • H. Hosono, N. Kikuchi, N. Ueda, and H. Kawazoe: Working Hypothesis to Explore Novel Wide Band Gap Electrically Conducting Amorphous Oxides and Examples, J.Non-Cryst.Sol., 198-200,165-169 (1996).
  • K. Nomura, H. Ohta, A. Takagi, T. Kamiya, M. Hirano, and H. Hosono: Room-Temperature Fabrication of Transparent Flexible Thin Film Transistors Using Amorphous Oxide Semiconductors, Nature, 432, 488-492 (2004).
  • S. Matsuishi, Y. Toda, M. Miyakawa, K. Hayashi, K. Kamiya, M. Hirano, I. Tanaka, and H.Hosono: High-Density Electron Anions in a Nanoporous Single Crystal: [Ca24Al28O64]4+(4e-), Science, 301, 626-629 (2003).
  • M. Kitano, Y. Inoue, Y. Yamazaki, F. Hayashi, S. Kanbara, S. Matsuishi, T. Yokoyama, S.-W. Kim, M. Hara, and H. Hosono: Ammonia synthesis using a stable electride as an electron donor and reversible hydrogen store, Nat. Chem., 4,934-940(2012).
  • Y. Kamihara, T. Watanabe, M. Hirano, and H. Hosono: Iron-Based Layered Superconductor La[O1-xFx]FeAs (x = 0.05-0.12) with Tc = 26 K, J. Am. Chem. Soc., 130, 3296-3297 (2008).
Page Top