Laureates of the Japan Prize


Emmanuelle Charpentier, Ph.D.

2017 (33rd) Japan Prize Laureate

Life Science
Elucidation of the genome editing mechanism by the CRISPR-Cas
Commemorative Lecture
Origins, mechanisms and evolution of the CRISPR-Cas9 technology
Nationality: France
Date of Birth: December 11, 1968
1992 Pierre and Marie Curie University (France), Bachelor and Master in Biochemistry, Genetics and Microbiology
1995 Pierre and Marie Curie University, Pasteur Institute (France), Ph.D. in Microbiology
2006 University of Vienna (Austria), Private Docent in Microbiology
2013 Umeå University (Sweden), Docent in Medical Microbiology
Research and Career:
1995-96 Post-doctoral Assistant at the Pasteur Institute (France)
1996-02 Research Associate positions at The Rockefeller University (New York);
New York University Medical Center (New York);
Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine (New York);
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (Memphis)
2002-09 University of Vienna (Austria), Guest Professor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor
2009- Umeå University (Sweden), Associate Professor, Visiting Professor
2013-15 Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (Germany), Department Head
Hannover Medical School (Germany), Professor
2015-16 Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (Germany), Director
2016 Humboldt University (Germany), Honorary Professor
2017- Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens (Germany), Director
Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens
Charitéplatz 1, 10117 Berlin
Publications, Thesis:
  1. Deltcheva E, Chylinski K, Sharma CM, Gonzales K, Chao Y, Pirzada ZA, Eckert MR, Vogel J and Charpentier E (2011) CRISPR RNA maturation by trans-encoded small RNA and host factor RNase III. Nature 471:602-607.
  2. Jinek M, Chylinski K, Fonfara I, Hauer M, Doudna JA and Charpentier E (2012) A programmable dual-RNA-guided DNA endonuclease in adaptive bacterial immunity. Science 337:816-821.
  3. Chylinski K, Le Rhun A and Charpentier E (2013) The tracrRNA and Cas9 families of type II CRISPR-Cas immunity systems. RNA Biol. 10:726-737.
  4. Fonfara I, Le Rhun A, Chylinski K, Makarova KS, Lécrivain AL, Bzdrenga J, Koonin EV and Charpentier E (2014) Phylogeny of Cas9 determines functional exchangeability of dual-RNA and Cas9 among orthologous type II CRISPR-Cas systems. Nucleic Acids Res. 42:2577-2590.
  5. Fonfara I, Richter H, Bratovič M, Le Rhun A and Charpentier E. (2016)
    The CRISPR-associated DNA-cleaving enzyme Cpf1 also processes precursor CRISPR RNA. Nature 532:517-521.
  • 2016: Meyenburg Prize/John Scott Award**/Wilhelm Exner Medal/ Tang Prize for Biopharmaceutical Science**/ Research! Sweden Research Award/Canada Gairdner International Award**/ Warren Alpert Foundation Prize*/ Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize*/Leibniz Prize/Knight (Chevalier) French National Order of the Legion of Honour/ Vallee Visiting Professorship/HFSP (Human Frontiers Science Program) Nakasone Award*/ Otto Warburg Medal/L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award*/ ABRF Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Biomolecular Technologies*
  • 2015: World Technology Award for Biotechnology*/ Science Award of Lower Saxony/Massry Prize*/Carus-Medal of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina/ Umeå University EC Jubilee Award/ Gruber Prize in Genetics*/ Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research*/ 11th International Society for Transgenic Technologies Prize*/Hansen Family Award/Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine/Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine/Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences*
  • 2014: Grand Prix Jean-Pierre LeCocq (French Academy of Sciences)/ Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine**/Dr Paul Janssen Award*/ Göran Gustafsson Prize (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)/Alexander von Humboldt Professorship
  • 2011: Eric K. Fernström Prize
  • 2010: Umeå Biotech Incubator Business Idea Award
  • 2009: Prize of the City of Vienna: Theodor Körner Prize for Science and Culture

*Jointly received with Jennifer Doudna
**Jointly received with J. Doudna and F. Zhang

  • 2016: Elected Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences/Elected Corresponding Member Abroad of the Austrian Academy of Sciences/Elected Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences/ Doctor Honoris Causa; Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) Switzerland/ Doctor Honoris Causa; New York University, USA/
    Doctor Honoris Causa; KU (Catholic University) Leuven, Belgium
  • 2015: Elected Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina/Elected Member of the European Academy of Microbiology,/Elected Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society/ Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2014: Elected Member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO)

(As of January 2017)

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top