Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Dr. Jennifer A. Doudna

Jennifer A. Doudna, Ph.D.

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    19 February 1964

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2017 Japan Prize


1999 National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research
2000 Alan T. Waterman Award, National Science Foundation
2014 Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, Foundation for the NIH
2015 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences*
2015 Princess of Asturias Award of Technical and Scientific Research*
2016 Canada Gairdner International Award**
2016 Tang Prize (Biopharmaceutical Science), Taiwan**

* Jointly received with E. Charpentier

** Jointly received with E. Charpentier and F. Zhang


2002 Member, National Academy of Sciences
2003 Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2010 Member, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies


1985 Pomana College, B.A. in Biochemistry
1989 Harvard Medical School, Ph.D. in Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Research and Career

1989-91 Research Fellow, Massachusetts General Hospital;
Harvard Medical School
1991-94 Postdoctoral Scholar, University of Colorado
1994-02 Yale University, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor,
Professor, Henry Ford II Professor
1997- Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2002- Professor, University of California, Berkeley


  • University of California, Berkeley
    Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
    708A Stanley Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720-3220

Publication, Thesis

  • Haurwitz RE, Wiedenheft B, Zhou K, Doudna JA. (2010) Sequence-and structure-specific RNA processing by a CRISPR endonuclease.
    Science 329(5997):1355-8.
  • Jinek M, Chylinski K, Fonfara I, Hauer M, Doudna JA, Charpentier E. (2012)
    A programmable dual-RNA-guided DNA endonuclease in adaptive bacterial immunity.
    Science 337(6096):816-21
  • Sternberg SH, Redding S, Jinek M, Greene EC, Doudna JA. (2014)
    DNA interrogation by the CRISPR RNA-guided endonuclease Cas9.
    Nature 507(7490):62-7 PMCID: PMC4106473
  • Kranzusch PJ, Lee AS, Wilson SC, Solovykh MS, Vance RE, Berger JM, Doudna JA. (2014)
    Structure-guided reprogramming of human cGAS dinucleotide linkage specificity.
    Cell 158(5):1011-21 PMCID: PMC4157622
  • O'Connell MR, Oakes BL, Sternberg SH, East-Seletsky A, Kaplan M, Doudna JA. (2014)
    Programmable RNA recognition and cleavage by CRISPR/Cas9.
    Nature 516(7530):263-6 PMCID: PMC4268322
Page Top