Laureates of the Japan Prize


Max Cooper, Ph.D.

2018 Japan Prize Laureate

Medical Science and Medicinal Science
Discovery of B and T lymphocyte lineages and its impact on understanding disease pathology and therapeutic development
Commemorative Lecture
B and T Lymphocytes : Integral Pillars of Adaptive Immunity
Nationality: United States of America
Date of Birth: August 31st, 1933
1953 Pre-Medicine undergraduate, University of Mississippi
1955 University of Mississippi Medical School
1957 M.D., Tulane University Medical School, New Orleans
1958-1960 Residency in Pediatrics, Tulane University
1961-1962 Allergy and Immunology Fellow, University of California at San Francisco
1962-1963 Instructor in Pediatrics, Tulane University
Work Career:
1963-1966 Medical Fellow Specialist/Instructor, University of Minnesota
(Robert Good’s laboratory)
1966 Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota
1967-2008 Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology, University of Alabama at Birmingham
1973-1974 Visiting Scientist, University College London
1984-1985 Visiting Scientist, Institut D’Embryologie, Nogent-Sur-Marne & Institut Pasteur, Paris, France
1987-2008 Professor of Medicine and Pathology, University of Alabama at Birmingham
1988-1989 President, American Association of Immunologists
1988-2006 Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of Alabama at Birmingham
2008- Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine
Publications, Thesis:
  1. Max D. Cooper, Raymond D. A. Peterson and Robert A. Good, Delineation of the Thymic and Bursa Lymphoid Systems in the Chicken, Nature Vol. 205 pp.143-146, 1965
  2. Max D. Cooper, Raymond D. A. Peterson, Mary Ann South and Robert A. Good, The Functions of the Thymus System and the Bursa System in the Chicken, The Journal of Experimental Medicine Vol. 123 pp.75-102, 1966
  3. Max D. Cooper, The early history of B cells, Nature Reviews Immunology Vol. 15 pp.191-197, 2015
  • 1966 The Founder’s Award of the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine
  • 1990 Sandoz Prize for Immunology
  • 1990 3M Life Sciences Award
  • 1994 American College of Physicians Science Award
  • 2000 AAI Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2006 AAI-Dana Foundation Award for Human Immunology Research
  • 2008 Avery-Landsteiner Prize
  • 2008 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
  • 2010 Robert Koch Prize
  • 2012 AAI Excellence in Mentoring Award

(As of January 2018)

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top