Laureates of the Japan Prize


Jacques Miller, Ph.D.

2018 Japan Prize Laureate

Medical Science and Medicinal Science
Discovery of B and T lymphocyte lineages and its impact on understanding disease pathology and therapeutic development
Commemorative Lecture
T Cells : From Discovery to Cancer Immunotherapy
Nationality: Australia
Date of Birth: April 2nd, 1931
1953 BSc. at University of Sydney (Medicine)
1955 MB, BS at University of Sydney
1960 PhD Experimental Pathology, University of London
1965 DSc. Experimental Pathology and Immunology, University of London
1985 BA University of Melbourne
Work Career:
1956 Junior Resident at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney
1957 Research work in the Pathology Department of the University of Sydney
1958 Cancer research at the Chester Beatty Research Institute, London
1963 Eleanor Roosevelt Fellowship, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland
1965 Associate Professor in Experimental Pathology, University of London
1966 Head, Department of Experimental Pathology, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne
1972 Visiting Fellow, Basel Institute for Immunology
1979 Visiting Fellow, Centre d'Immunologie INSERM-CNRS de Marseille-Luminy
1986 Visiting Fellow, Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum, Heidelberg, Germany
1990 Professor, Chair of Experimental Immunology, University of Melbourne and the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
1997 Emeritus Professor at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and the University of Melbourne
The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
Publications, Thesis:
  1. J. F. A. P. Miller, Immunological Function of the Thymus, The Lancet pp. 748-749, 1961
  2. G. F. Mitchell and J. F. A. P. Miller, Cell to Cell Interaction in the Immune Response, The Journal of Experimental Medicine pp. 821-837, 1968
  3. Jacques F. A. P. Miller, The golden anniversary of the thymus, Nature Reviews Immunology Vol. 11 pp.489-495, 2011
  • 1966 Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 1967 Scientific Medal of the Zoological Society of London
  • 1971 Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture of the Australian Academy of Science
  • 1974 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize
  • 1978 Rabbi Shai Shacknai Memorial Prize
  • 1983 International St Vincent Prize; World Health Organization
  • 1990 Sandoz Prize for Immunology
  • 1990 Peter Medawar Prize for the Transplantation Society
  • 1992 Croonian Prize, Royal Society
  • 2001 Royal Society of London Copley Medal
  • 2003 Prime Minister's Prize for Science

(As of January 2018)

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top