Laureates of the Japan Prize


Akira Yoshino, Ph.D.

2018 Japan Prize Laureate

Resources, Energy, Environment and Social Infrastructure
Development of lithium ion batteries
Commemorative Lecture
Nationality: Japan
Date of Birth: January 30th, 1948
1970 B.S., Department of Petrochemistry, Faculty of Engineering, Kyoto University
1972 M.S., Department of Petrochemistry, Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University
2005 Dr.Eng., Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University
Work Career:
1972 Entered Asahi Kasei Corp.
1992 Manager, Product Development Group, Ion Battery Business Promotion Dept., Asahi Kasei Corp.
1994 Manager, Technical Development, A&T Battery Corp.
1997 Manager, Rechargeable Ion Battery Group, Asahi Kasei Corp.
2001 Manager, Battery Materials Business Development Dept., Asahi Kasei Corp.
2003 Group Fellow, Asahi Kasei Corp.
2005 General Manager, Yoshino Laboratory, Asahi Kasei Corp.
2010 President, Lithium Ion Battery Technology and Evaluation Center (LIBTEC)*
2015 Advisor, Asahi Kasei Corp.
Visiting Professor, Research and Education Center for Advanced Energy Materials, Devices, and Systems, Kyushu University*
2017 Professor, Graduate School of Science and Technology, Meijo University*
2017 Honorary Fellow, Asahi Kasei Corp.*
* Current position
Asahi Kasei Corp.
1-105 Kanda Jinbocho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 101-8101 Japan
Publications, Thesis:
  1. “Converting carbon material into a battery negative electrode (in Japanese)”
    TANSO (Journal of The Carbon Society of Japan), 1999, No. 186, 45–49
    Akira Yoshino
  2. “Development of Lithium Ion Battery and Recent Technology Trends (in Japanese, published pursuant to receipt of prize from the Chemical Society of Japan)”
    Journal of The Chemical Society of Japan, 2000, No. 8, 523–534
    Akira Yoshino, Kenji Otsuka, Takayuki Nakajima, Akira Koyama, Satoshi Nakajo
  3. “Development of Lithium Ion Battery”
    Mol. Cryst. and Liq. Cryst., 2000, Vol. 340, 425–429
    Akira Yoshino
  4. “Development process and the latest trend for lithium-ion battery technology in Japan (in Chinese)”
    Chinese Journal of Power Sources, 2001, Vol. 25, No. 6, 416–422
    Akira Yoshino
  5. “Cathode properties of phospho-olivine LiMPO4 for lithium secondary batteries”
    Journal of Power Sources, 2001, Vol. 97–98, 430–432
    Shigeto Okada, Shoichiro Sawa, Minato Egashira, Jun-ichi Yamaki, Mitsuharu Tabuchi, Hiroyuki Kageyama, Tokuzo Konishi, Akira Yoshino
  6. “Overview of carbonaceous materials for lithium-ion battery”
    Mol. Cryst. and Liq. Cryst., 2002, Vol. 388, 575–579
    Akira Yoshino
1999 Fiscal 1998 Chemical Technology Prize from the Chemical Society of Japan for achievements in the development of the lithium-ion battery
1999 Battery Division Technology Award from The Electrochemical Society for achievements in pioneering work on lithium-ion battery technology
2001 Ichimura Prizes in Industry—Meritorious Achievement Prize, from the New Technology Development Foundation (Ichimura Foundation) for achievements in the development and commercialization of the lithium-ion battery
2001 Kanto-block Commendation for Invention—Encouragement Prize of Invention of the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, from the Japan Institute of Invention and Innovation
2002 National Commendation for Invention—Invention Prize of the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, from the Japan Institute of Invention and Innovation
2003 Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology—Prize for Science and Technology, Development Category, from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
2004 Medal with Purple Ribbon, from the Government of Japan
2011 Yamazaki-Teiichi Prize from the Foundation for Promotion of Material Science and Technology of Japan
2011 C&C Prize from the NEC C&C Foundation
2012 Designation as a Fellow of the Chemical Society of Japan
2012 IEEE Medal for Environmental and Safety Technologies from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
2013 The Global Energy Prize
2013 The Kato Memorial Prize from the Kato Foundation for Promotion of Science
2014 The Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering from The National Academy of Engineering
2016 The NIMS Award 2016 from the National Institute for Materials Science

(As of January 2018)

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top