Laureates of the Japan Prize


Svante Pääbo, Ph.D.

2020 (36th) Japan Prize Laureate

Life Science
Pioneering contributions to paleoanthropology through decoding ancient human genome sequences
Commemorative Lecture
Nationality: Sweden
Date of Birth: April 20, 1955(64)
1986 Ph.D. degree at University of Uppsala
Professional History:
1986 Postdoctoral research, University of Zürich (-1987)
1987 Short period of work at Imperial Cancer Research Fund
1987 Postdoctoral research, University of California (-1990)
1990 Docent in Medical Genetics, University of Uppsala
1990 Full Professor (C4), University of Munich (-1998)
1997- Director, Max-Planck-Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology (-current)
1999- Honorary Professor, University of Leipzig (-current)
2003 Guest Professor, University of Uppsala (-2015)
2016 Honorary Research Fellow, Natural History Museum (-current)
Key Publications:
  1. Krings M, Stone A, Schmitz RW, Krainitzki H, Stoneking M and Pääbo S., (1997), "Neandertal DNA sequences and the origin of modern humans", Cell, 90 (1), 19-30.
  2. Green RE, Krause J, Briggs AW, Maricic T, Stenzel U, Kircher M, Patterson N, Li H, Zhai W, Fritz M-H-Y, Hansen NF, Durand EY, Malaspinas A-S, Jensen JD, Marques-Bonet T, Alkan C, Prüfer K, Meyer M, Burbano HA, Good JM, Schultz R, Aximu-Petri A, Butthoff A, Höber B, Höffner B, Siegemund M, Weihmann A, Nusbaum C, Lander ES, Russ C, Novod N, Affourtit J, Egholm M, Verna C, Rudan P, Brajkovic D, Kucan Z, Gusic I, Doronichev VB, Golovanova LV, Lalueza-Fox C, Rasilla Mdl, Fortea, J, Rosas A, Schmitz RW, Johnson PLF, Eichler EE, Falush D, Birney E, Mullikin JC, Slatkin M, Nielsen R, Kelso J, Lachmann M, Reich D, and Pääbo S., (2010), "A draft sequence of the Neandertal genome", Science, 328(5979), 710-722.
  3. Reich D, Green RE, Kircher M, Krause J, Patterson,N, Durand EY, Viola B, Briggs AW, Stenzel U, Johnson PLF, Maricic T, Good JM, Marques-Bonet T, Alkan C, Fu Q, Mallick S, Li H, Meyer M, Eichler EE, Stoneking M, Richards M, Talamo S, Shunkov MV, Derevianko AP, Hublin J-J, Kelso J, Slatkin M and Pääbo S., (2010),."Genetic history of an archaic hominin group from Denisova Cave in Siberia", Nature, 468(7327), 1053-1060.
Award and Honor:
1992 Leibniz Prize
1998 Max Delbrück Medal
1999 Carus Medal and Prize
2000 Rudbeck Prize
2003 Leipzig Science Prize, Ernst Schering Prize
2005 Louis-Jeantet Prize
2008 Gorjanovic-Kramberger Medal
2009 Kistler Prize
2010 Theodor Bücher Medal
2011 Newcomb-Cleveland Prize, Biochemical Analysis Prize
2012 H.M. The King's Medal (Kon: sGM12mhb)
2013 Gruber Prize
2014 Learning Ladder Prize
2015 Lomonosov Large Gold Medal, Breakthrough Prize
2016 Keio Medical Science Prize
2017 Dan David Prize, Nomis Distinguished Scientist Award,
2018 Princess of Asturias Awards, Nakasone Award,
Körber European Science Prize, Nierenberg Prize
2019 Wiley Prize, Darwin-Wallace Medal

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top