Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Prof. Karl Deisseroth

Karl Alexander Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    18 November 1971 (51)

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2023 Japan Prize


1998 Ph.D. degree at Stanford University
2000 M.D. degree at Stanford University

Professional History

2000 MD internship, Stanford University (~2001)
2000 Assistant Physician in Psychiatry, Stanford University (~2004)
2004 Principal Investigator/Clinical Educator, Stanford University (~2005)
2005 Assistant Professor, Stanford University (~2008)
2008 Associate Professor, Stanford University (~2012)
2012 Professor, Stanford University (~current)
2014 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Researcher (~current)

Key Publications

  • ES Boyden, F Zhang, E Bamberg, G Nagel, K Deisseroth., (2005), “Millisecond-timescale, genetically targeted optical control of neural activity”, Nature Neuroscience, 8, 1263-1268. (citation 4,997)
  • VS Sohal, F Zhang, O Yizhar, K Deisseroth., (2009), “Parvalbumin neurons and gamma rhythms enhance cortical circuit performance”, Nature, 459, 698-702. (citation 2,478)
  • O Yizhar, LE Fenno, M Prigge, F Schneider, TJ Davidson, DJ O’shea, VS Sohal, I Goshen, J Finkelstein, JT Paz, K Stehfest, R Fudim, C Ramakrishnan, JR Huguenard, P Hegemann, K Deisseroth., (2011), “Neocortical excitation/inhibition balance in information processing and social dysfunction”, Nature, 477, 171-178. (citation 2,121)

Award and Honor

2005 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers
2010 Nakasone Award, Human Frontier Science Program (single)
2012 Zuelch Prize (with Peter Hegemann, Georg Nagel, and Ernst Bamberg)
2013 Brain Prize, Lundbeckfonden (with Gero Miesenbock, Ernst Bamberg, Ed Boyden, Peter Hegemann, and Georg Nagel)
2013 Dickson Prize in Science (single)
2014 Keio Medical Science Prize (single)
2015 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences (with Ed Boyden)
2015 Dickson Prize in Medicine (single)
2015 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award (with Ed Boyden, and Gero Miesenbock)
2016 Massry Prize (with Peter Hegemann and Gero Miesenbock)
2017 Fresenius Prize, Else Kroner-Fresenius Foundation (single)
2017 Harvey Prize (with Peter Hegemann)
2018 Canada Gairdner International Award (with Ed Boyden, and Peter Hegemann)
2018 Kyoto Prize (Advanced Technology) (single)
2019 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize (with Ed Boyden, Peter Hegemann, and Gero Miesenbock)
2019 National Academy of Engineering Membership (single)
2020 Heineken Prize for Medicine (single)
2021 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research (with Peter Hegemann, and Dieter Oesterhelt)
Page Top