Laureates of the Japan Prize


Prof. Albert Fert

2007 Japan Prize Laureate

Innovative Devices Inspired by Basic Research
The discovery of Giant Magneto-Resistance(GMR) and its contribution to development of innovative spin-electronics devices
Commemorative Lecture
Origins, Development and Future of Spintronics
Nationality: France
Date of Birth: March 7 1938
Academic Degrees:
1957-1962 Ecole Normale Superieure (Paris), Master inMathematics,Master inPhysics
1963 UniversiteParis, Master thesis (physics)
1970 Doctor of Physical Science, Universite Paris-Sud
Professional Career:
1962-1964 Teaching assistant,Universite de Grenoble
1965-1976 Maitre-Assistant (lecturer), Universite Paris-Sud (Orsay)
1970-1995 Leader of a research group, Laboratory of Solid StatePhysics, Universite Paris-Sud
From 1976 Professor in Physics,Universite Paris-Sud
From 1995 Scientific Director, Unite Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (Orsay, Palaiseauafter 2005)
Title: University of Paris-South
Major Publications:
  1. Fert and I. A. Campbell, "Two-Current Conduction in Nickel", Physical Review Letters 21, 1190-1192 (1968)
  2. M. N. Baibich, J. M. Broto, A. Fert, F. Nguyen Van Dau, F. Petroff, P. Eitenne, G. Creuzet, A. Friederich, and J. Chazelas, "Giant Magnetoresistance of (001) Fe/(001) Cr Magnetic Superlattices", Physical Review Letters 61, 2472-2475 (1988)
  3. T. Valet and A. Fert, "Theory of the perpendicular magnetoresistance in magnetic multilayers", Physical review B 48, 7099 (1993)
  4. A. Fert and H. Jaffres, "Conditions for efficient spin injection from a ferromagnetic metal into a semiconductor", Physical Review B 64, 184420 (2001)
Major Honors:
  • The American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials, together with P. Grünberg and S.S.P. Parkin (1994)
  • IUPAP Magnetism Award, together with P. Grünberg (1994)
  • The French Physical Society Jean Ricard Grand Prize (1994)
  • The European Physical Society-Hewlett Packard Prize together with P. Grünberg and S.S.P. Parkin (1997)
  • Honoris Causa Doctorate of the University of Dublin (Ireland) (2003)
  • Gold Medal of the French "Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique" (CNRS). (2003)
  • Honoris Causa Doctorate of the University of Kaiserslautern (Germany) (2006)
  • The French Academy of Science (2004)

( At the time of receipt of the Prize )

More about the Laureates

Press Conference

page top