Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg

Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg

  • Nationality:
  • Date of Birth:
    18 March 1939

Outline of Achievements

Outline of Achievements

The 2007 Japan Prize

Major Honors

1994 The American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials, together with A. Fert and S.S.P. Parkin
1994 IUPAP Magnetism Award, together with A. Fert
1996 Technologiepreis des Vereins der Freunde und Foerderer des Forschungszentrums Julich
1997 The European Physical Society-Hewlett Packard Prize together with A. Fert and S.S.P. Parkin
1998 The German Prize of the President of the German Federal Republic for Innovation and Advancement of Ttechnology
2004 "Manfred-von-Ardenne Prize for Applied Physics by the European Society of Thin Films
2006 "European Inventor of the Year 2006 in the category Universities and Research Institutions" European Patent Office
2007 "Stern- Gerlach-Medal" of the German Physical Society


2003 External member of the "Max-Planck-Institut fur Mikrostrukturphysik" in Halle/Saale, Germany

Academic Degrees

1966 Diploma in Physics, Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
1969 Ph. D in Physics, Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
1984 Habilitation, Universitat zu Koln, Germany

Professional Career

1969-1972 Postdoctoral fellow at Carleton University,Ottawa Canada
1972 Research scientist,IFF-Forschungszentrum Julich Germany
1984 Habilitation and lecturer, Universitat zu Koln, Germany
1984-1985 Visiting scientist, Argonne National Laboratories, USA
1988 Visiting professor, JRCAT, Tsukuba Research Center,Japan
1998 Visiting professor, IMR, Tohoku University,Sendai, Japan


  • The Research Center of Solid State Physics

Major Publications

  • P. Grünberg, R. Schreiber, Y. Pang, M.B. Brodsky and H. Sowers "Layered Magnetic Structures: Evidence for Antiferromagnetic Coupling of Fe Layers across Cr Interlayers", Physical Review Letters 57, 2442-2445 (1986)
  • G. Binasch, P. Grünberg, F. Saurenbach, and W. Zinn "Enhanced magnetoresistance in layered magnetic structures with antiferromagnetic interlayer exchange", Physical Review B 39, 4828-4830 (1989)
Page Top