Japan Prize Laureates

Laureates of the Japan Prize

ブライアン・ホスキンス 博士

ブライアン・ホスキンス 博士

  • 国籍:イギリス
  • 生年月日:1945年5月17日



2024 Japan Prize受賞者


1966 Bachelor of Science in Mathematics, University of Cambridge
1970 Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Cambridge


1970 Post-doctoral Fellow, U.S. National Center for Atmospheric Research
1971 Post-doctoral Fellow, Atmospheric Modelling Group, University of Reading
1973 Group Leader, Atmospheric Modelling Group, University of Reading
1976 Reader in Atmospheric Modelling, University of Reading
1981-2014 Professor of Meteorology, University of Reading
1990-2014 Holder, Established Chair in Meteorology, University of Reading
2000-2010 Royal Society Research Professor
2008 Director, Grantham Institute for Climate Change, Imperial College
2014 Chair, Grantham Institute for Climate Change, Imperial College
2014 Part-time Research Professor, University of Reading


  • Uppala, S.M., P.W. Ka Llberg, A.J. Simmons, U. Andrae1, V. da Costa Bechtold, M. Fiorino, J.K. Gibson, J. Haseler, A. Hernandez, G.A. Kelly, X. Li, K. Onogi, S. Saarinen, N. Sokka, R.P. Allan, E. Andersson, K. Arpe, M.A. Balmaseda, A.C.M. Beljaars, L. Van de Berg, J. Bidlot, N. Bormann, S. Caires, F. Chevallier, A. Dethof, M. Dragosavac, M. Fisher, M. Fuentes, S. Hagemann, E. Hölm, B.J. Hoskins, L. Isaksen, P.A.E.M. Janssen, R. Jenne, A.P. Mcnally, J.-F. Mahfouf, J.-J. Morcrette, N.A. Rayner, R.W. Saunders, P. Simon, A. Sterl, K.E. Trenberth, A. Untch, D. Vasiljevic, P. Viterbo and J. Woollen: The ERA-40 re-analysis, Quart. J. Roy. Meteorol. Soc., 131, 2961–3012, 2005
  • Hoskins, B.J., M.E. McIntyre, and A.W. Robertson: On the use and significance of isentropic potential vorticity maps. Quart. J. Roy. Meteorol. Soc., 111, 877–946, 1985
  • Hoskins, B.J., and D.J. Karoly: The steady linear response of a spherical atmosphere to thermal and orographic forcing. J. Atmos. Sci., 38, 1179–1196, 1981
  • Hoskins, B.J., and T. Ambrizzi: Rossby wave propagation on a realistic longitudinally varying flow. J. Atmos. Sci., 50, 1661–1671, 1993


1972 L.F. Richardson Prize, Royal Meteorological Society
1976 Buchan Prize, Royal Meteorological Society
1982 Symons Memorial Lecture, Royal Meteorological Society
1985 Fellow, American Meteorological Society
1987 Charles Chree Silver Medal, Institute of Physics
1988 Carl-Gustav Rossby Research Medal, American Meteorological Society
1988 Fellow, Royal Society
1990 Member, Academia Europaea
1997 Vilhelm Bjerknes Medal, European Geophysical Society
1998 Commander of the British Empire (for services to Meteorology)
2001 Honorary Fellow, Royal Meteorological Society (HonFRMetS)
2002 Foreign Associate, U.S. National Academy of Sciences
2002 Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences
2007 Symons Gold Medal, Royal Meteorological Society
2007 Knighted for services to Environmental Science
2008 Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Bristol
2009 Honorary Doctor of Science, University of East Anglia
2011 12th IMO Lecturer at the quadrennial WMO Assembly
2011 Honorary Fellowship, Trinity Hall, University of Cambridge
2012 Fellow, Energy Institute
2013 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2014 Honorary Member, American Meteorological Society
2014 Buys Ballot Medal, Royal Netherlands Academy for Arts & Sciences
2015 Gold Medal, International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
2015 Honorary Fellow, Geological Society of India